craft, homeschooling, waldorf, wool

Handwork – ” knitting creates neural pathways”

 

 

Today is our HandWork Day. I always look forward to this day! As a crafter and creater myself,,,,its only natural that i pass this on to my children. We are currently exploring with weaving, slipknots, braiding, and knitting. My oldest has done well with fingerknitting, and now it is time to introduce the knitting spool ! With much excitement ! {Beautiful handcarved spool pictured above is by Annie, her lovely Waldorf store is here.}

Do your little ones use a knitting spool?  My son has asked to be taught knitting for years (he is always watching mama!)….. he is now 6 and i am thinking he is now ready. It can be a bit tricky on the fingers to pull the bottom loop up and over the top with the needle.

Below I have listed some additional reads and links on this topic. They are wonderful ! Also..if you like woolcrafts, Annie has kindly sponsored my blog with an upcoming giveaway for you…some things pictured above in the basket!

I could go on and on…there are so many wonderful reads out there !  Perhaps this will be an introduction to further inspire us all to realize the true benefits in adding HandWork and craft into our lives and teaching it to our little ones. I’d love to hear your thoughts, ideas, any to share? Have a wonderful week all ! x
 

Knitting is just the facet of handwork in the Waldorf curriculum. As the student matures, handwork becomes increasingly complex. When speaking of handwork as part of the Waldorf curriculum, Rudolf Steiner stated that the purpose was not necessarily to teach a particular skill but rather to inspire a mindset of confidence and connectedness in the individual. Whether describing children knitting or young adults carving and bookbinding, handwork teaches a mindset that will last a lifetime.
Read more = suite 101

How to use a knitting nancy by Mama MoonTime.

 
Importance of HandWork and finger knitting, weaving, braiding for us all = teaching handwork.
 
A beautiful article on HandWork by Parental Passage.
 
 
Discussion

4 thoughts on “Handwork – ” knitting creates neural pathways”

  1. I have friends from England and NZ who said knitting was part of their school curriculum, both boys and girls. I think that’s wonderful; I wish it had been that way in the states. You’re an awesome mom. And I’m excited about your water color class. Hope to see more on that.

    Like

    Posted by Jodi | May 26, 2011, 2:23 pm
  2. Handwork is so important in my life, I mainly needle felt, it gives me balance and creates such simulation in my brain. I look at Mother Nature all around me and am inspired, cheers Marie

    Like

    Posted by Marie | May 27, 2011, 1:28 am
  3. Ha! I wonder if that is why I have a hard time knitting precisely? My nueral net pathways are bumpy roads indeed.

    (I found you as you commented on my giveaway!)

    MaLora

    Like

    Posted by Bird and Bicycle | May 27, 2011, 4:41 am
  4. I love the colours in your basket! And I think i may have the same sari silk yarn. My 3 yo loves watching me knit and crochet… I amd serious thinking of trying to teach him soon :)

    Like

    Posted by Seaweedandraine | May 28, 2011, 1:00 pm

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 310 other followers

“What is life? It is the flash of a firefly in the night. It is the Breath of a Buffalo in the wintertime. It is the little shadow which run across the Grass and loses itself in the Sunset”. – Crowfoot , great warrior.

norwood walkabouts

{my first blog}

Blog Stats

  • 14,740 hits
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 310 other followers

