crochet

art of crochet edging

diamond, tricut, scallop edgings + dottie angel blanket

                                                    ::  CROCHET EDGING ::

 A nice selection for your viewing pleasure ::

GREEN: scallop edging. easy. i’ll go with that for pillowcases. doesn’t use much yarn.

PURPLE: trifoil edging. adds height and majestic nature , a bit crowny. pattern looked terrible but was pretty easy! I learned new stitches, the half double treble and the treble4together. i like this one.

BLUE : Diamond edging. the diamond is only half finished (abandoned) as the pattern quickly turned into a very long paragraph of alien fish gibberish. Something like .. place leg cluster and draw loop and yoh yoh and miss two yohs and chsp thru 6 base hole clusters. OoOOoo. Suddenly I felt like Pete Seeger was in the room and I was reading words to a folk song. If you can do this edging, then you are seriously waaaaay cool.

 I won’t even show you what the butterfly lip, ricrac, and scallop edgings turned out  like – where do they get these names ? 

Believe me, it was fun. In an excited feverish sortof way. I do love the purple one, its height and the little crowns were certainly amusing to create. I did learn a few new stitches. And I totally know how to land an alien spacecraft now.

I see lovely little crochet edgings along pillowcases, neckscarves, handkerchiefs, doilies, and skirts. And it does make me ever so happy to see them.   Do you have a favorite crochet edging? 

Discussion

14 thoughts on “art of crochet edging

  1. I love this. I haven’t tried edging yet, but sometimes I look at knitting or crochet patterns and just get cross eyed. I can see how this stuff was passed down through generations instead of in books.

    Like

    Posted by crooked little house | May 30, 2011, 2:01 pm
  2. your comment made me laugh! very much like alien spaceship landings directions, I’ll have to tell my new crochet class that, they seem to be getting very frustrated, so that will give them a giggle!
    Love the purple one too, it is awesome! And your new profile pic=stunning
    XXXXX

    Like

    Posted by Crochet with Raymond | May 30, 2011, 7:11 pm
  3. these look great! My favourite is the green although im possibly swayed because its my favourite colour:) The purple one is great and rather tricky looking

    Like

    Posted by karen | May 31, 2011, 4:00 am
  4. Crochet patterns do seem like a foreign language to me quite frequently! I tend to make it up as I go along, making sure it looks vaguely like the picture at the end!

    Thanks for visiting my blog too!

    Like

    Posted by Lionesslady | June 2, 2011, 2:45 am
  5. Ha ha ha.. crochet stitch instructions are crazy hey!! They are really lovely edgings :)

    Like

    Posted by lamina @ do a bit | June 2, 2011, 4:09 am
  6. Hi,
    Thanks for stopping by and leaving a lovely comment on my pink granny purse. Your edging samples look great. I’d say I like the scallop edge the best as it adds such elegance to the finished piece.

    Like

    Posted by Karen | June 2, 2011, 4:19 am
  7. I love all kinds of crochet edging! Even the simpler ones. They give a nice touch to so many things.

    Like

    Posted by Fruitful Fusion | June 2, 2011, 2:24 pm
  8. I love a good crocheted edging, thanks for the inspiration! They look great by the way!

    Like

    Posted by Twirly Curly Bird | June 3, 2011, 12:53 pm
  9. love the purple one !

    Like

    Posted by priscilla | June 3, 2011, 1:00 pm
  10. I love love LOVE crochet edgings. I really don’t think any piece is complete without some form of edging :)

    Like

    Posted by Cris | June 3, 2011, 2:01 pm
  11. Ahhhh, this is the Dotty Angel blanket I tried and failed. Couldn’t work out how to join it up nicely as I went. Tutorial seemed just to go fuzzy before my eyes every time I read that part. Didn’t help that I did it in a slightly different stitch, I admit.

    Like the crowny one.

    Like

    Posted by Vera @ Small Things Simple Pleasures | June 4, 2011, 7:32 am
  12. I love your edgings, especially the purple design. I just learned to make granny squares this week and am really enjoying it. I haven’t made it up to edgings yet.

    Like

    Posted by sarah in the woods | June 4, 2011, 3:54 pm
  13. Glad I’m not the only one who gets confused with some of these crochet instructions!! I’m fairly new to crochet and haven’t edged anything yet. Love the purple one!

    Like

    Posted by Fiona | June 5, 2011, 3:16 pm
  14. I’m liking the purple one too! :)
    The blue is lovely, but trying to read some of the gibberish was, well… just that. You did well to get as far as you did!

    Like

    Posted by Seaweedandraine | June 7, 2011, 12:16 pm

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 310 other followers

“What is life? It is the flash of a firefly in the night. It is the Breath of a Buffalo in the wintertime. It is the little shadow which run across the Grass and loses itself in the Sunset”. – Crowfoot , great warrior.

norwood walkabouts

{my first blog}

Blog Stats

  • 14,633 hits
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 310 other followers

