craft, Kimberley, knitting, wool

Pockets of joy

we’ve been on the move.. my cria and me. My little stash basket works great for carrying my knitting round! Did i ever show it to yoU? I just love how the garters and purls and (the last ball of ) the Malabrigo yarn peeks out at you. Alot of stitches go into making an adult sweater let me just say. As I make this I realize as the years roll on each time I wear this sweater I know I will think back to where I was when I knitted it :: here in the Kimberley.

I am now down the the pockets. Based on several other knitters experience with Malabrigo and the Cria’s they have finished – I cut my Body part shorter than the pattern instructions. I did the 37 rows, the increase, then the 27 rows, then another increase. 10 rows into the next and final 27 rows, I binded off for the pockets.

Under each arm is a faux pearl seam, marked by a single stitch marker. The pocket you see here is the left pocket, marked by a stitch marker at both ends. The other side is the same, except between my faux pearl underarm seam to the beginning of the pocket has a problem. One side counts 17 stitches, the other 22. This is rather significant, but luckily I am pretty happy go lucky and have not screamed or had a panic attack. I have no idea how this happened, but i’m sure nobody will be standing on their head with their rear end up in the air counting my pocket to side stitch. (Will you?)

Front look. See the little pockets? I’ve never done pockets…. cute ! 10 more rows and it’s finished!!! Boy am I excited .

This is the back. Based on my calculations , the sweater pockets should sit right at my hip bones. Perfect. (This is before blocking,, however. I hear Malabrigo grows quite a bit.) We shall see just how much ! Anyone with a Malabrigo blocking tip or experience to share?

Discussion

8 thoughts on “Pockets of joy

  1. B-E-A-U-T-I-F-U-L ! i love the bag too!

    Like

    Posted by Jodi | September 18, 2011, 8:47 pm
  2. Your ninja is on it’s way to it’s new home! (:
    (I couldn’t find an email address for you!)

    Like

    Posted by melissa | September 19, 2011, 5:37 pm
  3. wow, well done, your sweater is almost done! oh stitches that don’t add up right! aggg! my motto is make it work. no one will ever be the wiser and being happy with imperfection is always a goal of mine (not that i am even close to perfect, just that i can get frustrated and start something over instead).

    your knitting bag is just gorgeous, i wish i could crochet well enough to make one. have fun in kimberley, are you on holiday?

    Like

    Posted by Lori | September 19, 2011, 8:39 pm
  4. Angelina, I LOVE those colours!!! Bright, beautiful and bouncy! Really lovely! I might just have to learn how to read a knitting pattern so I can use some of that Malabrigo – I don’t know if it would lend itself to crochet all that well….. It seems like everyone is using that stuff, so it must feel as good as it looks!

    Like

    Posted by Evi | September 19, 2011, 9:04 pm
  5. you have been busy! i can’t wait to see it on…

    Like

    Posted by Anushka | September 19, 2011, 10:12 pm
  6. Just love those colours in your jumper and the brilliant basket you carry your knitting around in! I think you already have a little bit of heaven happening around you!

    Like

    Posted by Hilary | September 21, 2011, 11:08 am
  7. oh i wish i knew how to knit…between you and lori…..i love seeing both of your work..beautiful….

    kary

    Like

    Posted by kary gonyer | September 22, 2011, 8:39 pm

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 310 other followers

“What is life? It is the flash of a firefly in the night. It is the Breath of a Buffalo in the wintertime. It is the little shadow which run across the Grass and loses itself in the Sunset”. – Crowfoot , great warrior.

norwood walkabouts

{my first blog}

Blog Stats

  • 14,564 hits
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 310 other followers

