craft, Lost Crafts, primitive, quilting, sewing, Uncategorized, zen

courthouse steps


:: we lost internet/ phone connection for 4 days. Sorry for me? Don’t be! I think it was just splendid… I started a new quilt!
:: being forcefully ‘unplugged’ has made me realize how much time we do spend online. in hindsight it seems a great loss of time.
:: as a creative artful being, i have it all right inside of me. and yet, for the last year or so, i feel i look to the internet for guidance and even instruction when i feel creative. mind you, i like to see what other folks are doing in their lives – but i don’t want to be like or do like anybody else i know. i want to think up my own stuff.
:: so all these little epiphonies of sorts make my Leo mind run wild and long story short i’ve started a snazzeling new quilt. Using the bar measurements from the book ‘material obsession‘ – [its called a courthouse steps block]. In her book she names her quilt Retro something.
:: anyway back to my epiphony. why do we spend such a great amount of time on electric contraptions? aren’t they cold. aren’t they basic and lacking sensation. why does then the human of today feel so connected to wires and poly screens and strange people you’ll never meet?
:: i’m reading a great book. a collection of south african short stories. i’m brewing tea by the pot full. i’m thinking all sorts of thoughts. i attribute it to good books, good tea, and good old fashioned unplugged living. for four days.
:: :: :: :: :: :: :: :: :: :: :: :: :: :: :: :: :: :: :: :: :: :: ::

Discussion

7 thoughts on “courthouse steps

  1. Laura, you pioneer, you. I agree that quilt is quite snazzeling!

    Love, Ruby

    Like

    Posted by Jodi | October 4, 2011, 11:46 am
  2. Love your fabric choices! I can’t wait until I can sew again. Looks like I’ll be moving into our permanent home by the end of this month!
    Also, I too feel so connected to being online. I think it’s because we are no longer connected to our neighbors (at least I haven’t been in such a congested urban environment). It’s also nice to actually seek out like minded people without leaving the house with our small children. Even though we may be great friends with our neighbors, maybe they don’t like knitting or sewing, or maybe they think Waldorf is a cult and maybe sometimes we just need to know that we aren’t alone in our choices. I know it’s helped me.
    On the other hand, I have had to step back and spend my time online more conscientiously. Sometimes what starts out to be quick research on a recipe or pattern ends up being something completely different and before you know it, an hour has passed and the kids are screaming because they are hungry;-) This has happened more times that I care to admit.

    Like

    Posted by crooked little house | October 4, 2011, 2:59 pm
  3. i agree! off line is cool, it might be the next big thing!!!!
    great start, girl. mhmmmm.
    n♥

    Like

    Posted by woolf | October 4, 2011, 5:33 pm
  4. I love, love your fabrics. Aren’t they fun!

    I think time on-line can be a mixed blessing. I agee with Crooked Little House about connecting to like-minded people (Someone has asked me before if Steiner is some kind of cult) and I have gained so much inspiration and information by Googling. The problem comes when I get drawn in and lose all sense of time. I know at one stage, I couldn’t start a new project until I’d checked out all possible avenues online. Madness! Especially as it left no time for the actual project. I really don’t want to carbon copy anyone else’s work. Just inspiration and technique. I’m trying to be more disciplined! Really, I am!

    Like

    Posted by Cheryl | October 5, 2011, 12:09 pm
  5. i like your quilt, esp the apple fabric
    as for the internet i have no idea where the time goes to, i swear it was only an hour ~ that clock must be wrong

    Like

    Posted by Nicole | October 9, 2011, 6:07 am
  6. Beautiful quilt block! I love it! Hope to see the finished quilt some time.
    Yes, unplugged life is so good and full.

    Like

    Posted by renee ~ heirloom seasons | February 8, 2012, 4:09 am

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: old fashioned winding « Oh angelina - October 5, 2011

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 310 other followers

“What is life? It is the flash of a firefly in the night. It is the Breath of a Buffalo in the wintertime. It is the little shadow which run across the Grass and loses itself in the Sunset”. – Crowfoot , great warrior.

norwood walkabouts

{my first blog}

Blog Stats

  • 14,355 hits
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 310 other followers

